6:30  Rooftop cocktails
7:30  Dinner
Stephen Colbert hosts presentation by Elevator Repair Service
Live auction
9:30  Dancing with The Vintage DJ


The evening begins with cocktails and hors d’oeuvres on the roof overlooking the Hudson River at sunset. A delectable dinner is served while guests enjoy a tribute show, hosted by Stephen Colbert, and featuring legions of ERS artists and special guests. A brief live auction will feature one-of-a-kind experiential packages. The Vintage DJ will get the dance party started, spinning original vinyl from the 1920s to the 1970s. Dress festively!


Honorary Committee

Laurie & Oskar Eustis
Greta Gerwig
Maggie Gyllenhaal & Peter Sarsgaard
Debra Monk
Lili Taylor
Maura Tierney

Host Committee

Robin & Arthur Aufses
Erin Courtney & Scott Adkins
Jennifer Egan & David Herskovits
Julie Hall-Houston & Scott Houston
James Hannaham
Janet & Mike Iveson, Sr.
Clea Lewis & Peter Ackerman
Diane Compagno Miller
Sarah Paley & Bob Kerrey
Zoe E. Rotter
Greig Sargeant
Freddie & Vin Scelsa

Gala Sponsors

Select Equity Group, L.P. &
Robert A. Wilson, Jr.

Steve Bodow & Katherine Profeta
Doug Curtis
David Gilbert
Mindy Goldberg
Lee & Fritz Michel
Nicholas Quinn Rosenkranz
Bill Stasiulatis & Carolina Saez
Anne Stringfield & Steve Martin

Kenneth Cera
Kay & Tom Darby
Fraser Hunter & Nina Huffman
Jackie & Harry Moses

List in formation as of 4/10/2017




Platinum – $25,000
Gold – $15,000
Silver – $10,000
Bronze – $5,000


Angel – $2,000
Patron – $1,250
Friend – $500

Unable to attend? Please consider making a donation, or paying for an ERS company member to attend the gala.




A brief live auction with auctioneer Stephanie Landess will feature packages unique to ERS, ranging from insider theater experiences to an Italian vacation. Click here to view the auction packages.


Stephen Colbert is best known as the host, writer and executive producer of The Late Show with Stephen Colbert on CBS. His long-running Emmy® and Peabody® Award-winning series “The Colbert Report” aired on Comedy Central from 2005 to 2014 and was nominated for 40 Emmys, winning a total of 6. The show was also twice honored with the prestigious Peabody® Award for Excellence in Broadcasting.

Oskar Eustis has served as the Artistic Director of The Public Theater since 2005. He served as Artistic Director at Trinity Repertory Company and the Eureka Theatre Company, and as Associate Artistic Director at the Mark Taper Forum. Eustis is a Professor at New York University, and has held professorships at UCLA, Middlebury College, and Brown University. Eustis has directed the world premieres of plays by Rinne Groff, Paula Vogel, Tony Kushner, Philip Kan Gotanda, David Henry Hwang, Emily Mann, Suzan-Lori Parks, Ellen McLaughlin, and Eduardo Machado, among many others.

Stephanie Landess has served as Auctioneer and Emcee for a broad variety of national and local organizations such as UNICEF, The School of American Ballet, The Nature Conservancy, NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital, Urban Pathways, Jacobs Pillow, Art Walk, Hedge Funds Care, The Browning School and many others.

Jonathan Jacobs is a staple of the theater and performing arts scene in New York City. As The Vintage DJ, he has headlined events for an array of renowned cultural institutions and companies, including The MacDowell Colony, Citigroup, Brooklyn Museum, Gawker, The Public Theater, Bard Summerscape Festival, The Moth and Swarovski Crystal, and for the 84th Annual Academy Awards Governors Ball.



Doug Curtis (Chair)
Steve Bodow (Vice Chair)
Zoe E. Rotter (Vice Chair)
Lucy Mallett (Treasurer)
John Collins (President)
Clay Ballard
Kenneth Cera
David Gilbert

Mindy Goldberg
Fritz Michel
Nicholas Quinn Rosenkranz
Greig Sargeant
Bill Stasiulatis
Anne Stringfield
Scott Watson
Robert A. Wilson, Jr.

Gala Supporters

Ellen Bodow
Jonathan Bines & Alexandra Jacobs
Mary Birdsong
Josh Brand
Christopher Buckley & Liz Sharp
Michele Crown
Conrad Cummings & Robert Katz
Patricia & Aldon Daniels
Loni & Bob Dantzler
Nina & Patrick Darby
Linda & Thomas Dupree
Susan Eddy
Gavin Edwards
The Lehoczky Escobar Family
Katherine Ezell
Anna May & Tim Feige
Diane Frimmel
Greta Gerwig
Maxine Gerson
Mark Goldberg
Rinne Groff & David Becker
Patrick Guilfoyle
James Hannaham
Randolph T. Harris & Barbara Sloan
Patricia & Robert Jaeger
Alison Jones
Michael Kades
Beryl Kreisel
Sue & Bob Lawley
David Lesser
Eric Liftin & Betsey Schmidt
Shauna Lyon
Colleen P. Mahoney
Mark Malaspina
Lucy Mallett & Brad Buehring
Nike & Leo Marks
April Matthis
Ron Meador

Katie Michel
Claire & David Millar
Bethany & Robert Millard
Maureen Miller
Franceska Morrison
Steven Phillips & Isabel Swift
Clare & Martin Prentice
Susan & Fred Profeta
Pat Ravey
Zoe E. Rotter
Hilary Reyl
Greig Sargeant
Stephanie & David Sassoon
Kaneza Schaal
Martin Schneider & Debra Fine
Douglas Schoen
Alexandra Siladi
Debra Singer & Jay Worthington
Naama Greenfield-Simpson
& Pete Simpson
Susie Sokol
Deborah Solomon & Ken Sepkowitz
Judy Tabb
Amy Tan & Lou DeMattei
Adam Vossen
Katie & Heath Watkin
John Williams
Mac Wellman
Gary Wilmes
Axis Theatre Company
HERE Arts Center
New Ohio Theatre
New York Theatre Workshop
Target Margin Theater
The Public Theater
List in formation as of 5/19/2017


Corporate Sponsors




Proceeds from the gala will support ERS in the development of new plays, the remounting of works from the repertoire, and our educational programs.

For more information about this event or to order tickets, please contact Ariana Smart Truman, ERS Producing Director 212-254-3137